Imagery of church-related people and places.

ELM Seminarian Outreach Team

Photo by Emily Ann Garcia

Photo by Emily Ann Garcia

The ELM Seminarian Outreach Team (formerly Proclaim Seminarian Team) was created in celebration of the growing number of LGBTQIA+ Lutheran seminarians and divinity school students pursuing rostered ministry.

Goals of this team include:

  • To strengthen ELM’s relationship with LGBTQIA+ seminarians through designated student representatives at each ELCA seminary and many divinity schools.
  • To provide more opportunities for LGBTQIA+ seminarians to get involved in Proclaim and ELM and to be supported by the Accompaniment program. 
  • To make Proclaim and ELM more visible in ELCA seminaries and divinity schools both for LGBTQIA+ students and others.

In addition to student reps at each seminary, we also have ELM Seminary Advocates, faculty and staff members at each ELCA seminary and some divinity schools who serve as a liason between ELM and the school and as an advocate for LGBTQIA+ students.

sem 1

Photo by Emily Ann Garcia

2018-2019 ELM Seminarian Outreach Team Reps

You can reach the whole team atsemteam@elm.org

CONVENER – Laura Ferree, Trinity Lutheran Seminary, serving on internship, lferree@tlsohio.edu

Lutheran School of Theology at Chicago – Morgan Gates, gates.morgan.elizabeth@gmail.com and Carolyn Lawrence, carolyn.lawrence@lstc.edu

Luther Seminary – Miranda Joebgen, miranda.joebgen@valpo.edu

Trinity Lutheran Seminary – Kristin Boris, kboris@tlsohio.edu

Lutheran Theological Southern Seminary –  Tara Fleck, tara.fleck@my.lr.edu

Pacific Lutheran Theological Seminary – Brandon Peck, bpeck@ses.plts.edu

United Lutheran Seminary, Philadelphia –  Stephen Boyhont, sboyhont@gmail.com

United Lutheran Seminary, Gettysburg – Carla Christopher, poetrywarrior@gmail.com

Wartburg Theological Seminary – Claire Ackley, cackley@wartburgseminary.edu

Harvard Divinity School – Samm Melton, samantha_melton16@mymail.eku.edu

Photo by Emily Ann Garcia

Photo by Emily Ann Garcia